There’s No Place Like Home

I’m sitting in the Chicago O’Hare airport, one tiny flight away from my man! My flight from Seattle was easy; I slept the whole way (didn’t you read my last post? I am a champion-level sleeper).

Well…here it is, folks: the end of this blog. The end of my summer. I start school again tomorrow.

I don’t need to bore you with a lengthy stream-of-consciousness reflection of how amazing this summer has been. I’ll spend plenty of time reflecting and treasuring it for years to come. Plus, if you’ve been following the whole time, you’ve practically done this summer with me. Wasn’t it fun??

I will say this before I go – this summer has been absolute magic. It’s far and away the best one of my life so far. It’s like something out of a storybook: I slept in castles and sailed the seas. I saw creatures as giant as humpback whales and as tiny as baby sea turtles. I had a week in there where my feet were in the Atlantic on a Sunday and then the Pacific on a Thursday. I pushed my limits and realized I’m capable of more than I ever thought possible. Y’all, I did a lot of LIVING this summer. I packed more living into this summer than some people do in a lifetime.

I am so thankful that God gave me these opportunities and blessed me with these things. I know I don’t deserve them, and I am so full of praise and thanks to Him for giving them to me! More than that, though, I’m full of praise and thanks for what He’s given me on the other side of this tiny, one-hour flight. There is a man on the other side of that flight who can’t wait to see me. There are two dogs on the other side of that flight who will be ready to snuggle and a cat who will be ready to continue hating me while I love her anyway. There’s a job on the other side of this flight where I get to see my students again, where I get to tell them about all of my adventures, and where my life can slow down for a while. (I dare you to find another teacher who looks forward to September as the part when their life slows down). There’s family on the other side of this flight – family by birth and family by marriage, who will have my back no matter what, who will drag me out of bed for 8 AM garage sales, and who will make Sunday dinner meatloaf.

There’s my home, guys. There’s my home on the other side of this flight, and I can’t wait to get there.

Now I have tears running down my face. I’m crying in the airport like an idiot. I could try to excuse it by saying it’s only 5:30 AM and I’m really tired, but nah. The truth is that I’m just so happy. I’m so happy for the gift of this summer and so happy for what lies on the other side of it.

Thanks for being on this journey with me.

Cheers to 2017.

blog8

IMG_20170811_145811978

3 thoughts on “There’s No Place Like Home

  1. Christine, I have loved living vicariously through you…thank you for sharing this amazing summer!!! AND please don’t stop writing!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

